# View our online events library here.

static image

On 19 December 2016, the Australian Government announced that the Industry Skills Fund (ISF) will be closed for new applications from 31 December 2016, as part of a range of changes to programs through MYEFO. New enquiries and referrals to Skills Advice have ceased in line with the announcement with the view to the cessation of Industry Skills Fund Advisory Services from 31 January 2017.

Further information about the program changes will be available on the program’s website.

Types of assistance available under the Fund

Skills Advice

Identification of opportunities to maximise training outcomes. Experienced skills advisers dedicated solely to providing advice under the fund will work with businesses to:

  • Understand their growth opportunity
  • Identify the skills needed to help increase competitiveness and achieve the growth opportunity.

Training Grant

Co-investment with businesses to improve the skills of their workforce for an identified growth opportunity.
Financial co-contribution
The Fund operates a contribution model where businesses that are awarded funding must financially contribute to the proposed project. The required contribution amount (percentage of total project cost) is dependent on the size of the business determined by full time equivalent (FTE) staff levels:

  • Micro business (0 - 4 FTE) - 25%
  • Small business (5 - 19 FTE) - 34%
  • Medium business (20 - 199 FTE) - 50%
  • Large business (200+ FTE) - 75%

Contribution amounts for businesses operating in or seeking to expand into Northern Australia are :

  • Micro, Small or Medium business (0-199 FTE) - 25%
  • Large business (200+ FTE) - 50%.

Businesses must cover in full, all costs not directly attributed to the delivery of the training and contributions cannot be in-kind.

Types of businesses the fund will assist

The fund focuses on small and medium enterprises, including micro businesses but does not exclude large businesses. Businesses within the following industries will be given priority; however, businesses from other industries may also  apply.
  • Food and agribusiness
  • Mining equipment, technology and services
  • Medical technologies and pharmaceuticals
  • Oil, gas and energy resources
  • Advanced manufacturing; and
  • Enabling technology and service industries that support one or more of the priority areas listed above.

For more information on the Industry Skills Fund, contact one of Ai Group's Industry Skills Fund Skills Advisers here, call 13 28 46, or complete an online enquiry form available at business.gov.au/industryskillsfund.

Industry Skills Fund

Ai Group Industry Skills Advisers

Bruce Kendall
Victoria
bruce.kendall@aigroup.com.au
0491159705

Rob Warren
Melbourne
robert.warren@aigroup.com.au
0477663200

Alan Maguire
Melbourne
alan.maguire@aigroup.com.au
0408070687

Lois Hunt
Bendigo
lois.hunt@aigroup.com.au
0412341223

Kristy Walsh
Western Sydney/Lithgow
kristy.walsh@aigroup.com.au
0437668722

Ken Rowley
Sydney
ken.rowley@aigroup.com.au
0448691161

Richard Jenkins
Sydney
richard.jenkins@aigroup.com.au
0400731822

Jenny Symons
Central West NSW
jenny.symons@aigroup.com.au
0448860065

Shani Doyle
Central Coast/Hunter
shani.doyle@aigroup.com.au
0419462500

Michael Williams
North Coast NSW
michael.williams@aigroup.com.au
0428225517

Wayne Lee
Brisbane
wayne.lee@aigroup.com.au
0419841852

Deborah Moran
Brisbane
deborah.moran@aigroup.com.au
0408092249

Peter Jasch
Sunshine Coast
peter.jasch@aigroup.com.au
0427853777

Jayne Gray
Cairns
jayne.gray@aigroup.com.au
0401119742

David Furniss
Adelaide
david.furniss@aigroup.com.au
0439188148

Paul Nolan
Adelaide
paul.nolan@aigroup.com.au
0427244503

Daniela Mattheys
Perth
daniela.mattheys@aigroup.com.au
0434609141

Roger Tyshing
Launceston
roger.tyshing@aigroup.com.au
0448666500

John Watkin
Hobart
john.watkin@aigroup.com.au
0428920778

Brenda Elferink
Darwin
brenda.elferink@aigroup.com.au
0400100740