Ai Group is convening a collaborative Forum of industry leaders and organisations to support Australian industry transformation. The newly created Industry 4.0 Advanced Manufacturing Forum is the successor of the Prime Minister’s Industry 4.0 Taskforce and builds on the work of the Taskforce in promoting collaboration between government and industry in both countries on Industry 4.0, including initiating a collaborative approach to the development of global Industry 4.0 standards.

The Forum is aligned with the German Plattform Industrie 4.0 through the agreement German-Australian Cooperation on Industrie 4.0. It will continue to facilitate discussion and collaboration on priorities for Industry 4.0 in Australia and provide policy recommendations to governments. 

Details of the Executive Council and Work Stream are as follows:

Forum Executive Council

Mr Innes Willox – Chief Executive of Australian Industry Group Convenor

Mr Jeff Connolly – Chairman and CEO of Siemens Australia and New Zealand

Hon Trish White – National President and Chairman of Engineers Australia

Dr Jens Goennemann – Managing Director of Advanced Manufacturing Growth Centre

Work streams and leaders

Reference architectures, standards and norms:
Daniel Chidgey Head of Stakeholder Engagement Standards Australia

Security of networked systems:
Ms Michelle Price, CEO of AustCyber

Research and innovation:
Mr David Chuter, CEO and Managing Director of Innovative Manufacturing CRC (IMCRC)

Test laboratories and future of work, education and training:
Prof. Aleksandar Subic, Deputy Vice-Chancellor (R&D), Swinburne University of Technology; and
Mr Andrew Dettmer, National President, Australian Manufacturing Workers’ Union

The Industry 4.0 Advanced Manufacturing Forum is progressing an online hub to keep stakeholders informed of current and planned initiatives. See