In order to bring you the best possible user experience, this site uses Javascript. If you are seeing this message, it is likely that the Javascript option in your browser is disabled. For optimal viewing of this site, please ensure that Javascript is enabled for your browser.

BIZassistInfoline

1300 78 38 44

Join Ai Group

1800 722 420

Home Policy and Representation Economics Performance Indices

Performance Indices

       
  PERFORMANCE OF MANUFACTURING INDEX
(1st working day of month)
PERFORMANCE OF SERVICES INDEX
(3rd working day of month)
PERFORMANCE OF CONSTRUCTION INDEX
(5th working day of month)
PERIOD November 2014
November 2014 November 2014
LEVEL 50.1 43.8 45.4
MONTHLY CHANGE 0.7 0.2 -8.0
DIRECTION
(RELATIVE TO NEUTRAL 50)
Expanding Contracting Contracting
TREND OF DIRECTION
(MONTHS)
1 9 1

Australian Industry Group Economic Performance Indices

Each month Ai Group releases real-time performance indices for the manufacturing, services and construction sectors. These national indices are constructed from survey data collected from businesses Australia-wide, on a representative sample basis. The indices are seasonally adjusted ‘diffusion indexes’, based on a number of key activity indicators including sales, production, new orders, supplier deliveries and employment.

In all of these indices, an index reading above 50 points indicates that activity is generally expanding; below 50, that it is declining. The distance from 50 is indicative of the strength of the expansion or decline.

The surveys upon which these indices are based are extremely short and simple. They ask respondents to specify whether their activity has increased ( "up"), decreased ("down") or remained the same ("no change") from the previous month’s level, for each of a small number of activity indicators. This diffusion index methodology is well-established and is used globally across a network of internationally consistent and comparable ‘PMI’ data series.

Each Australian PMI, Australian PSI and Australian PCI survey takes no more than one minute to complete.

To participate in the Australian Performance of Manufacturing Index® Survey please click here

To participate in the Australian Performance of Services Index® Survey please click here

To participate in the Australian Performance of Construction Index® Survey please click here

How does the Australian Performance of Manufacturing Index® compare to Australia's official ABS data for manufacturing?
This research note examines the statistical relationship between the Australian PMI® and various ABS data series that are relevant to manufacturing activity. The findings show there is a strong relationship between the Australian PMI® and ABS data on Australian manufacturing. For several data series, the Australian PMI® leads the ABS data by several months, because it is released so much earlier and faster each month than the official data.

What does the Australian PSI tell us about ABS Data? Cick here to find out more.


Would you like to see more detailed Performance Index data?
The time series indices and sub-series for each monthly Index report are available for purchase on an annual subscription basis for an annual fee. These include time series data for each activity index and each sub-sector and for selected states (excluding the Australian PCI). Annual subscribers receive the updated data each month and are entitled to reproduce and modify the data for their own business purposes, provided Ai Group's ownership of the Indices, registered trademarks and intellectual property rights are appropriately acknowledged and protected by each subscriber.

For further information regarding these surveys or to purchase an annual subscription to the time series data please email economics@aigroup.asn.au

 

Australian Industry Group Performance Indicators 2015 dates

2015   Date Day

Jan

PMI 5 January 2015 Monday
PSI 7 January 2015 Wednesday
PCI 9 January 2015 Friday
 

Feb

PMI 2 February 2015 Monday
PSI 4 February 2015 Wednesday
PCI 6 February 2015 Friday
 

Mar

PMI 2 March 2015 Monday
PSI 4 March 2015 Wednesday
PCI 6 March 2015 Friday
 

April

PMI 1 April 2015 Wednesday
PSI 7 April 2015 Tuesday
PCI 9 April 2015 Thursday
 

May

PMI 1 May 2015 Friday
PSI 5 May 2015 Tuesday
PCI 7 May 2015 Thursday
 

June

PMI 1 June 2015 Monday
PSI 3 June 2015 Wednesday
PCI 5 June 2015 Friday
 

July

PMI 1 July 2015 Wednesday
PSI 3 July 2015 Friday
PCI 7 July 2015 Tuesday
 

August

PMI 3 August 2015 Monday
PSI 5 August 2015 Wednesday
PCI 7 August 2015 Friday
 

Sept

PMI 1 September 2015 Tuesday
PSI 3 September 2015 Thursday
PCI 7 September 2015 Monday
 

Oct

PMI 1 October 2015 Thursday
PSI 5 October 2015 Monday
PCI 7 October 2015 Wednesday
 

Nov

PMI 2 November 2015 Monday
PSI 4 November 2015 Wednesday
PCI 6 November 2015 Friday
 

Dec

PMI 1 December 2015 Tuesday
PSI 3 December 2015 Thursday
PCI 7 December 2015 Monday